English Expressions

Expressing Certainty and Uncertainty/Doubt
 

A. Expressing certainty

download Untuk menyatakan keyakinan bahwa sesuatu telah/sedang/akan terjadi, gunakanlah ungkapan-ungkapan berikut:
I am sure … = Saya yakin …
I am absolutely sure … = Saya benar-benar yakin …
I am quite sure … = Saya cukup yakin …
I am certain  … = Saya yakin …
I am positive … = Saya positif …
Absolutely  = Benar
Certainly = Pasti
Of course = Tentu saja
Definitely = Tentu
 
Contoh:
 
Jika ada pertanyaan:
“ Will Amir pass t?he exam” = Apakah Amir akan lulus ujian?
 
Dapat direspon dengan:
Yes, I am sure he will = Ya, saya yakin dia akan lulus
I am absolutely sure sure he will = Saya benar-benar yakin dia akan lulus
I am quite sure he will = Saya cukup yakin dia akan lulus
I am certain he will = Saya yakin dia akan lulus
Certainly = Pasti
Definitely = Tentu
Jika ada pernyataan:
“Andi will win the game” = Andi akan memenangkan permainan itu
 
Dan pertanyaan:
“Are you sure about it? = Apakah kau yakin tentang hal itu?
 
Dapat direspon dengan:
“I am absolutely sure that he will win it = Saya benar-benar yakin bahwa dia akan memenangkannya
“I am absolutely sure he will win it
“I am absolutely sure he will
“I am absolutely sure about it
Definitely
Certainly
 
ADAPTATION

1. Will Amir pass t?he exam          : Will Amir pass the exam?
     sure/he will                                  : Yes, I am sure he will

Did Rahmat win the game                   : Did Rahmat win the game?
absolutely sure/he did                        : Yes. I am absolutely sure he did

Is Hasan on the way  home                : Is Hasan on the way home?
quite sure/he is                                     : Yes. I am quite sure he is

has Ratih done her homework          : Has Ratih done her homework?
certain/she has                                      : Yes, I am certain she has

2. Andi will win the game                      : Andi will win the game
sure/about it                                           : Are you sure about it?
absolutely sure/he/it                             : Yes, I am absolutely sure that he will win it
                                                                      Yes, I am absolutely sure he will win it
                                                                      Yes, I am absolutely sure he will
                                                                      Yes, I am absolutely sure about it

There was an accident last night       : There was an accident last night
sure/about the news                            : Are you sure about the news?
quite sure/there                                    : Yes. I am quite sure that there was an accident last night
                                                                     Yes. I am quite sure there was an accident last night
                                                                     Yes. I am quite sure there was
                                                                     Yes. I am quite sure about it

I will marry Mr Toha’s daughter       : I will marry Mr Toha’s daughter
positive/ about it                                 : Are you positive about it?
positive/I/her                                        : Yes. I am positive that I will marry her 
                                                                   Yes. I am positive I will marry her
                                                                   Yes. I am positive I will
                                                                   Yes. I am positive about it
 
B. Expressing uncertanty/doubt

images Untuk menyatakan ketidakpastian/keraguan tentang suatu peristiwa yang telah/sedang/akan terjadi, gunakanlah ungkapan-ungkapan berikut:
Sorry, I’m not sure … = Maaf, saya tidak yakin…
I’m not really sure … = Aku benar-benar tidak yakin
I’m not too sure … =  Aku tidak terlalu yakin
I doubt … = aku ragu
 
Contoh:
Jika ada pertanyaan:
“Will Ani come?” = Apakah Ani akan datang?
Dapat direspon dengan:
Sorry, I’m not sure she will = Maaf, saya tidak yakin dia akan datang
I’m not really sure she will = Aku benar-benar tidak yakin dia akan datang
I’m not too sure she will =  Aku tidak terlalu yakin dia akan datang
I doubt she will = Aku ragu dia akan datang
I can’t say that for sure = Saya tidak bisa mengatakan dengan pasti
 
 
Jika ada pernyataan:
“He told the truth” = Dia mengatakan yang sebenarnya
Dan pertanyaan:
“Are you sure about it? = Apakah kau yakin tentang hal itu?
 
Dapat direspon dengan:
“I’m not really sure that he told the truth” = Aku benar-benar tidak yakin bahwa dia mengatakan
yang sebenarnya
“I’m not really sure he told the truth”
“I’m not really sure he did”
“I’m not really sure about it
 
ADAPTATION
Linda will pass the exam                         : Are you sure that Linda will pass the exam?     
too sure /she will                                      : I’m not too sure she will

Hilman stole your wallet                         : Are you really sure that Hilman stole your wallet?
really sure/ about it                                  : I’m not really sure about it

A burglar broke into Tomi’s room:       : Are you sure that a burglar broke into Tomi’s room?
doubt/about the news                            : I doubt about the news
 
You will marry Astuti                               : Are you certain that you will marry Astuti?
certain/ about it                                       : I am not certain about it
 
Contoh soal
1. Rendy : Are you sure that the disk is OK ?
Nina : I’m not sure,but we can check it.
The italic sentence expresses…
A. Apologize
B. Agree
C. Disagree
D. Uncertainty

2. Ana : I’m going to buy some books at Asia Plaza tomorrow.Can you join me ?
Vina : Well…I can’t decide whether join or not.
The italicsentence expresses…
A. Certainty
B. Doubt
C. Agree
D. Apologize

3.   Johan Hi, Yudithe weather is cloudy. Do you think it will rain soon?
Yudi   : I think so, I am … It will rain soon.
A.   sure
B.   not sure
C.   certainty
D.   Doubtful

4.   Mr. James : If I don’t have certificate showing ownership of property for
guarantee, will the bank lend me some money?
Mr. Chang : I can’t say that for sure.
The underlined expression is used to express ….
A.   disappointment
B.   disagreement
C.   uncertainty
D.   Dislike

5.   Dedy      :  Are you sure that she will come to my party  tonight?
Mizwar  :   I’m sure about that.
The underlined sentence is used to express ……
A.    certainty
B.    uncertainty
C.   disagreement
D.   Suggestion

6.   Miss Dina    :   Do you think that the headmaster will be here at 7.30
tomorrow morning?
Miss Ati      :   ….he will. He always gets here before seven.
A.  I doubt
B.  I’m sure
C.  I’m afraid
D.  I can’t stay

Leave a Reply

Jumlah Pengunjung Sejak 7 April 2013

  • 22,167 hits
Myspace Marquee Text - http://www.marqueetextlive.com

bpk2
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

